Through working with a partner??

Mission

To provide science enrichment to at risk NYC youth through working with a partner to learn how to SCUBA dive

I have spent a lot of time focusing on the few words which compose my mission statement.  When questions/distaste arise regarding it, they almost unanimously involve the “through working with a partner” part of it.  Evidently, what is clear to me is cloudy with a chance of meatballs to others.  Whose opinion carries more weight?

I see three components to a mission statement: the what, the who, and the how.

My what: providing science enrichment

My who: at risk NYC youth

I saw my how operating via two major factors: a working partnership and the learning of SCUBA.

“Partnerships” are a foundational aspect of SCUBA diving and its training process.  They are also a great way for students to engage in meaningful learning.  This strategy will continue to play a vital role in the program, however; I don’t think I can afford mass confusion surrounding my mission statement.  When I think about the mission statements that I like the most, they are concise, realistic, and leave little room for ambiguity.  (My favorite of the past week (although it includes no “how”): from the Khan Academy – to provide a world-class education to anyone, anywhere.)  And so, in the interests of a more universal understanding, I would like to try a new mission statement on for size:

Mission

To provide science enrichment to at risk NYC youth through learning how to SCUBA dive

Thoughts?

2 Responses to “Through working with a partner??”


  1. 1 Gidget August 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I would mention how science enrichment will help high-risk youths become lower-risk.

  2. 2 Zach Rome August 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Thanks, Gidge! I’m still working on the formal articulations of my intervention, but hope to be more explicit in that department shortly.

    You da man!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

Follow us on facebook!

Tweet with us!


