Sweet-Water Fish

(This post was written at 4:53 am on 8/7/10 in Prague, Czech Republic and posted at 9:00 pm on 8/9/10 in Ceske Krumlov, Czech Republic.  Internet is not as available as anticipated.  Lo siento for the lack of activity.)

Shortly (30 minutes??), we’ll be leaving Prague to start the cycle down east to Vienna.  But what a city it was!  And what hevruta sessions we had!

For thinking while riding:

– What does good presence in the classroom look like?

– What does it mean to provide a clear relevancy?

– Why now? i.e. Why is there presently a need for this type of program?

– What are the external factors that might affect my work? i.e. political, educational, geographic, economic, etc.

– What the heck are sweet-water fish??

The Prague Aquarium

The Aquarium in Prague

– What are my finances for the first year?  Second year?

Let’s pause on this one for a moment.  I currently have it broken down into four categories: Administrative/Operating, Personnel, Marketing, and One-time equipment purchases.  Take a look at what I anticipate I will have to spend Robert Deniros on and please add to the list!

Administrative

– Office supplies

– Internet service

– Insurance

– Taxes

– Curriculum supplies

– Pool rental

– Gas for van

– Trips to the Dutch Springs training facility

Personnel

– My salary

My health insurance

Marketing

– Business Cards

– T-shirts

One-time equipment purchases

– SCUBA gear

– SCHOOBA van

4 Responses to “Sweet-Water Fish”


  1. 1 eric August 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Just wondering what you think the costs will be, quantitatively. Maybe once you figure that out, you can pinpoint sources of funding. Or maybe you’d like to start by working with children from all financial backgrounds and charging tuition, then start to phase in scholarships, or once you’ve built a name for yourself you can more easily find partners/funders. Or maybe try the pepsi rewards project?

  2. 3 Zach Rome August 30, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Fingermon!!

    Quantitatively, I only have the roughest of estimates right now. I can’t imagine operating costs being very high at all – aside from a salary for myself and a few one-time purchases for equipment and possibly a van (which I would hope to be able to get some donations for), I think the major costs will go towards insurance and possibly renting pool time (if I can’t get that donated/subsidized as well).

    I talk a bit about possible business models in some later posts, but ideally, I won’t have to search for much outside funding. I plan to charge a tuition to certain students which will hopefully be able to support me working with kids that can’t afford it.

    And I’m definitely planning on applying for the Pepsi project! I’d just like to figure a few more things out before applying.

    Thanks so much for your interest and thoughts! I’d love to stay in touch.

    Zach


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

Follow us on facebook!

Tweet with us!


